Stuff of the Year

Posted: December 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

I like to make lists at the end of the year for my favorite music and movies that I’ve encountered that year. Maybe this year I’ll include other items as well, we shall see. Only one more week of school and, as of this moment, about 8 more pages to write before I’m free until 2012. It feels good to know that.

For now, I’m going to include a list of albums I’ve listened to this year and movies I’ve seen/still need to see. I’ll get to rankings either later this week or early next. Enjoy this rather uneventful and unfinished list:
Robert

2011 Album releases I’ve listened to: (I’m about 99.5% certain I know what my AOTY is already…2-20 are going to be more difficult)
The Decemberists– The King Is Dead
The Get Up Kids– There Are Rules
The Civil Wars– Barton Hallow
Go Radio– Lucky Street
Aaron Gillespie– Anthem Song
Emery– We Do What We Want
Yellowcard– When You’re Through Thinking, Say Yes
Thursday– No Devolucion
Explosions In The Sky– Take Care, Take Care, Take Care
Death Cab for Cutie– Codes and Keys
Blindside– With Shivering Hearts We Wait
City and Colour– Little Hell
Taking Back Sunday– Taking Back Sunday
Matt Redman– 10,000 Reasons
Switchfoot– Vice Verses
The Dangerous Summer– War Paint
Sainthood Reps– Monoculture
Thrice– Major/Minor
MuteMath– Odd Soul
Relient K– Is For Karaoke
Deas Vail– Deas Vail
Coldplay– Myloto Xyloto
Fireworks– Gospel
Gungor– Ghosts Upon the Earth
The Hawk in Paris– His + Hers
Hawthorne Heights– Hate
The Hotel Year– It Never Goes Out
O’Brother– Garden Window
Real Estate– Days
States– Room to Run
The Wonder Years– Suburbia: I’ve Given You All and Now I’m Nothing
You Can’t Win, Charlie Brown– Chromatic

2011 Movie releases I’ve seen: (Too many movies I haven’t seen to make a MOTY call as of yet…have a few I’m thinking will be in the race, though)
Barney’s Version
The Green Hornet
No Strings Attached
The Adjustment Bureau
Happythankyoumoreplease
Rango
Battle: Los Angeles
Paul
Win Win
Source Code
Super
Soul Surfer
The Beaver
Thor
Bridesmaids
Everything Must Go
The High Cost of Living
Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides
The Hangover: Part II (sadly)
Kung Fu Panda 2
The Tree of Life
Beginners
Love, Wedding, Marriage
X-Men: First Class
Super 8
Bad Teacher
Cars 2
Transformers: The Dark of the Moon
Larry Crowne
Horrible Bosses
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2
Captain America: The First Avenger
Crazy, Stupid, Love
Cowboys & Aliens
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
The Help
30 Minutes or Less
One Day
Our Idiot Brother
Moneyball
50/50
The Ides of March
J.Edgar
Peep World

Still need to see: (* are most anticipated)
Melancholia*
The Descendants*
A Dangerous Method
Hugo*
The Muppets*
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy*
Midnight in Paris*
Young Adult
Carnage
Mission: Impossible–Ghost Protocol*
Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows*
The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
The Adventures of Tintin
We Bought A Zoo
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
The Rum Diary
Like Crazy
Anonymous
Attack the Block*
Hesher
The Lincoln Lawyer
Jane Eyre

Leave a Reply

