Early Thoughts and Golden Things

Posted: December 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

Added a few movies to the “Seen It” list, which is getting smaller, it seems, by the day. I’ll add my mini reviews at the bottom. Down to 18 on the “Yet To See” list, though I probably won’t see all of them before the end of the year. Getting closer to my best of the year list.

The Descendants: A
Another great addition to the Alexander Payne filmography. Much like the rest of is films, it feels like you’re eavesdropping on people’s lives, not watching a movie. And, like his others, there’s a lot of heart here.

The Muppets: A
This ‘A’ is on an entirely different plane that the above grade, as this movie isn’t about wowing you with fantastic performances or stirring set pieces. Instead, this is about having fun. And fun it is! Good to see the Muppets back on the big screen.

In other news, the Golden Globe nominations were released yesterday and I had a few initial thoughts:

1) I’ve seen all but one of the Best Picture (Drama) nominees (the as-of-yet to be released War Horse), and all but two of the Best Picture (Musical or Comedy) nominees (The Artist and My Week With Marilyn). If I had to pick in these categories I’d say either Moneyball or Hugo in Drama and 50/50 for Musical/Comedy

2) I’ve only seen one of the nominated films for Best Actress-Drama (Viola Davis in The Help), and 4/5 for Best Actor-Drama. Impossible to pick Actress. Actor is hard. I like Ryan Gosling, but this should be for Drive, not Ides of March.

3) Best Actress-Musical/Comedy: 1/5
Best Actor-Musical/Comedy: 3/5
Not informed enough for either. Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s performance is borderline “comedy,” though.

4) Animated Feature: 2/5 (Cars 2, Rango). None of these movies excite me much.

5) Supporting Actress: 3/5. Shailene Woodley from The Descendants was really freakin’ fantastic. Supporting Actor: 3/5. Jonah Hill, really? Give me a break. They are missing some screws here. Christopher Plummer or Albert Brooks should win.

6) Director: 4/5. Martin Scorsese, because the handling of the large scope of Hugo was fantastic.

7) Screenplay: 4/5. No Hugo here? Oscar should fix this with the two categories. Either The Descendants or The Ides of March here.

8) I don’t watch enough television to comment on those categories. Plus, the Globes tend to nominate a lot of Showtime, HBO and other cable network shows, so that makes it impossible to pick on these. General comments:

a) Not a lot of love for The Big Bang Theory or How I Met Your Mother, two of my favorites. Good to see Johnny Gelecki in there, though.

b) How does Matt LeBlanc keep getting nominated for playing HIMSELF!?

c) New Girl is getting a lot of love. I like that show. It is adorable, as is its star, but the show is just silly. Good silly, but not Golden Globe nominated silly.

More thoughts to come, along with the top of the year list.

Leave a Reply

