And finally, the film list

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’ve been alluding to it for a while now, and now I’ve finally seen enough movies this year to feel like I can make this list. I’ve included a list of the movies I haven’t seen yet, as well. I’ll weigh on in those as I see them later. So without further ado:

1. 50/50

2. Beginners

3. Drive

4. Hugo

5. The Descendants

6. Happythankyoumoreplease

7. Rise of the Planet of the Apes

8. The Ides of March

9. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows–Part 2

10. Like Crazy

11. Mission: Impossible- Ghost Protocol

12.Midnight In Paris

13. Crazy Stupid Love

14. Moneyball

15. Source Code

16. X-Men: First Class

17. The High Cost of Living

18. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

19. Young Adult

20. The Adventures of Tintin

21. Win Win

22. The Muppets

23. Melancholia

24. J. Edgar

25. Attack the Block

26. The Adjustment Beureau

27. Contagion

28. The Tree of Life

29. Everything Must Go

30 (tie). No Strings Attached/Friends With Benefits

With a list like this, it is always difficult to decide how to make this list. With art it is complicated in terms of how I decide what makes one film better than another. In this case, I went with two basic premises. First, I chose films that I felt were done well artistically. Obviously, this is different from film to film. For instance, the things that I like about 50/50 as a film in terms of its craft are entirely different than Rise of the Planet of the Apes or Mission: Impossible-Ghost Protocol. Still, if the film is not well-made then that can be a distraction. Second, is how the film effects me as a viewer. In the case of films like 50/50, Beginners and Happythankyoumoreplease speak to this, whereas films like Drive and The Ides of March weigh more heavily in terms of craft. It is always a difficult list to make, but I still enjoy doing it every year.

Robert
PS. Here’s the list of movies I haven’t seen. I’m sure there are others, but this is from what I know.

A Dangerous Method
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
Carnage
We Bought A Zoo
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
The Rum Diary
Anonymous
Restless
The Debt
The Artist

Leave a Reply

