Award season begins!

Posted: December 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

I said this last year, but this is one of my favorite parts of the year. I like being able to narrow a focus of films I still need to see before the year ends or into the next, trying to have some educated way of looking at the awards, especially the Golden Globes and the Oscars. That being said, the nominations for the Globes were announced last week, so I thought I’d weigh in on the nominations and my thoughts on who I think who should or will win. I’ll stick to the films because the television categories spread far wider than I have the capabilities to cover. So without further ado, here we go:

Best Motion Picture, Drama
Argo
Django Unchained
Life of Pi
Lincoln
Zero Dark Thirty

Having only seen two of the movies so far, this is a difficult category to call at this moment. Of the two I have seen–Argo and Lincoln— I’d have to give the nod to Argo simply because I think it is a stronger film overall, even if Daniel Day-Lewis is transcendent (more on that later). I’m certain that Django and Zero Dark Thirty will certainly add intrigue to the conversation. Not sure about Life of Pi, though.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama
Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
Richard Gere, Arbitrage
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Joaquin Phoenix, The Master
Denzel Washington, Flight

Again, I’ve only seen Lincoln here, though I’m super intrigued by The Master and Flight. Seriously, though, if Daniel Day-Lewis loses here, something is very, very wrong.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Drama
Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty
Marion Cotillard, Rust and Bone
Helen Mirren, Hitchcock
Naomi Watts, The Impossible
Rachel Weisz, The Deep Blue Sea

Having not seen any of these films yet, it’s difficult to say anything. I’m hearing spectacular things about Chastain and Weisz, though.

Best Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Les Miserables
Moonrise Kingdom
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
Silver Linings Playbook

This is a complicated category. I really loved both Moonrise Kingdom and Silver Linings Playbook. Honestly, I think that Hotel and Fishing are probably nice little films, but won’t be any sort of conversation beyond the Globes. Les Mis is in an interesting position here. It is technically a musical, but I’m guessing the drama is high. Buzz has it all but a lock for an Oscar Best Picture nomination, so it feels like a lock to win here. Having not seen it, I can’t–for the moment–give it a nod over Moonrise or Playbook.

Note: Early guess on Oscar Best Picture category: Argo, Lincoln, Les Miserables, Moonrise Kingdom, Silver Linings Playbook, Zero Dark Thirty, Django Unchained, Life of Pi, The Dark Knight Rises and possibly another sleeper (Skyfall would be stellar here).

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Jack Black, Bernie
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
Hugh Jackman, Les Miserables
Ewan McGregor, Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
Bill Murray, Hyde Park on Hudson

As of now, it’s Cooper all the way, even if Black is playing way against type here. But Bernie was too strange a movie for anybody to
really grasp onto. Pretty good chance that Jackman jumps in here, though. Christmas Day will change a few thoughts here.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Comedy or Musical
Emily Blunt, Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
Judi Dench, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Maggie Smith, Quartet
Meryl Streep, Hope Springs

Geez, I’m really tired of Meryl Streep. I swear, she could take video of herself standing in a room without speaking for two hours and she’d get nominated for that “role.” This, in my opinion, is Jennifer Lawrence’s award to lose. She plays the quirks of her character so well, it’s just too perfect for words.

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture
Amy Adams, The Master
Sally Field, Lincoln
Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables
Helen Hunt, The Sessions
Nicole Kidman, The Paperboy

Sally Field is good in Lincoln, but based solely on the trailer for Les Mis, Anne Hathaway is going to be tough to beat here. I’ve heard
great things about Amy Adams, though. Must try to see The Master before too long.

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture
Alan Arkin, Argo
Leonardo DiCaprio, Django Unchained
Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln
Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master
Christoph Waltz, Django Unchained

This is a really tough category to call, honestly. All of these actors are always outstanding, and even though I’ve only seen Lincoln and Argo, I wouldn’t be surprised if any of these gentlemen took the award here. Arkin’s role feels like another version of his Oscar winning turn in Little Miss Sunshine, so we’ll see if that doesn’t hurt him. DiCaprio looks insane, and if Waltz wins again, he might never work with another director ever again.

Best Animated Feature Film
Brave
Frankenweenie
Hotel Transylvania
Rise of the Guardians
Wreck-It Ralph

I don’t see Pixar losing out a second year in a row, especially because Brave is miles better than Cars 2. Having not seen the rest of these, it’s hard to say for sure, but I really liked Brave and feel like it’ll pull it out when all is said and done.

Best Foreign Language Film
Amour
The Intouchables
Kon-Tiki
A Royal Affair
Rust and Bone

Having not seen any of these movies, I have nothing to say here. I’ve heard lots of good things about The Intouchables and A Royal Affair, and an actress nomination for Rust and Bone must bode well. I suppose we’ll see here.

Best Director – Motion Picture
Ben Affleck, Argo
Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty
Ang Lee, Life of Pi
Steven Spielberg, Lincoln
Quentin Tarantino, Django Unchained

There’s a lot of love here for Django, so I suppose this might be another place for the HFPA to award the film. However, it could be one of those situations where the nominations are the award. I, for one, would really love to see Affleck take this, as it would vindicate him for all the terrible years as an actor he had going there for a while. He truly has come full circle.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture
Argo
Django Unchained
Lincoln
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty

I think this is where Silver Linings comes up big, because it so magnificently manages to capture the truth of family, especially one where there’s some serious issues involved. It’s both hilarious and heartfelt, so I think it has a great chance here.

Best Original Score – Motion Picture
Mychael Danna, Life of Pi
Alexandre Desplat, Argo
Reinhold Heil & Johnny Kilmek, Cloud Atlas
Dario Marianelli, Anna Karenina
John Williams, Lincoln

How is this the only nomination for Anna Karenina? I haven’t seen the film yet, but it really looks wildly fantastic. That being said, John Williams and Alexandre Desplat will be tough to beat here. The problem is, though, that Williams’ score is a classic Williams’ score; so I’ll go to Desplat on this one.

Best Original Song – Motion Picture
“For You,” Act of Valor
“Not Running Anymore,” Stand Up Guys
“Safe and Sound,” The Hunger Games
“Skyfall,” Skyfall
“Suddenly,” Les Miserables

To me, this seems like a race between “Skyfall” and “Suddenly.” Taylor Swift’s song for The Hunger Games is excellent, but is no match for the wonder of a classic musical tune or Adele’s Bond theme (again, how is this that film’s only nomination!?). I’m going to go with Skyfall here, mostly because the song is a powerhouse and the film is unappreciated here.

So that’s what I have so far…more to come soon, including my Best Of lists for albums and films.

Robert

Leave a Reply

