30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 1: Introduction

Posted: April 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

So in case you haven’t figured it out, I’ll just come right out and say it: I’m turning 30 in 30 days, and I’m endeavoring to blog the path for the final month of my 20’s. Seeing as I’m not the best at keeping up with this–as I’ve often lamented–I’m not sure how successful I will be at hitting the goal, but I fully intend to make it a part of my daily routine.

The plan is simple: I don’t really have one. I’m not mapping out a list of topics I want to cover, I’m just going to react to what is happening in my life from day to day through the lens of a soon-to-be 30-year-old. The aim is for these writings to rise above the basic whiny, boo-hoo, woe-is-me kind of reactions to the moving into a decade in my life, and allow myself an opportunity to be honest and open about what’s really going on.

Today, for example, I’ll simply put forth a little shameless self-promotion. As part of this whole “turning 30” thing, I decided to take a stand-up comedy class at the local Comedy Zone in Charlotte. It’s been a blast so far, and the writer in me is really enjoying the challenge of working with a major economy of words situation; the performer in me is relishing the opportunity to get back on stage in front of an audience. Plus, it’s something I’ve always wanted to try, so it works out rather nicely. That and the timing couldn’t be any better.

You see, the class is a 6-week course where we spend time writing, performing and having our 3-minute sets critiqued by guys who actually work in the business, a very rare and awesome treat. Both of the guys who are teaching the class work at the club, booking the acts, so it’s safe to say they know what they are looking for in a comedy set. So at the end of this 6-weeks, we have a graduation show, where all of the students in the class invite friends, family, co-workers, and everyone else we know to come out and laugh at us…or with us…or because of us. The beautiful thing: the graduation show is on May 12, one day–nay, several hours–before my 30th birthday. Needless to say, I’m thrilled about getting to do this, and I invite anybody who wants to come to the show (all you have to do is say my name at the door and you get in for free). Doors are at 7, show is at 8. Arrive early.

I’m looking forward to what else is going to come together over the course of these next 29 days (eek!), and I hope there’s someone out there following along. Feel free to comment. But please, be nice. I’m still a little shaky on how I’m feeling about this getting older thing.

 

God bless,

Robert

Comments
  1. John says:

    Don’t worry about getting old. Soon you won’t be able to remember anything anyhow. Ah, bliss. Enjoy the comedy.

Leave a Reply

