30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 3: Promotional Consideration

Posted: April 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

First: I realize now just how bad of a blogger I actually am. If there were an award for “Worst Blogger of the Year,” I think I might be in the running. People without blogs altogether don’t count. I’m not proud, but it’s the way my mind works. So yeah, two days. Good job me.

Second: I’ll split today up into Days 3 & 4 to make up for my mistake yesterday.

Third: I’ll use this “Day 3” to promote a band that I recently discovered quite by accident. The story goes like this:

I got into vinyl last summer. Like all things with me, I got into it with a passion exceeded by little else. Let it be known that when I go after something, I really go after it. I bought a nice little record player and started buying albums in vinyl because it was something I always wanted to do. Now I frequent Charlotte’s local indie record store–Lunchbox Records, so you know, is awesome–and usually come out of there with something in my hands. So a few weeks ago, I bought a copy of City & Colour’s newest album The Hurry & the Harm, a rather fantastic album that was one of my favorites of last year. I took it home and the next day decided I wanted to hear the crackle of the vinyl, so I put it on. Side A and B were good; but when I went to pull out the second LP to continue the album, I was surprised to see that it was not side C & D, but an entirely different album. This album was by a band called Man on a Mountain. I’d never heard of them before, but I decided to give them a try.

I rather loved the album, so I took to social media to find out who they were and even went so far as to Tweet out the curiosity of my mistake. The guys in MOAM ended up finding the tweet and we messaged back and forth. They thought it was so cool that I discovered them that way, they sent me a limited edition of their record, a T-shirt and a few other little niceties. All this to say, they are good guys and a strong band, so you should check them out on Facebook and Twitter if you’ve got it. Also buy their music if you can, because it’s rare to find bands who are both good as musicians and as people, so take advantage of that. Their official website is manonamountain.com, and you can check out their music and merch and such.

As a musician myself, I cannot understate how cool it is that they reached out to me the way they did. I’m hoping they come through Charlotte soon, because I look forward to supporting them by going to a show and buying some of their merch to help them out. We need more of this, so I’m glad to give them this forum, even if it’s just a small blog that hardly anyone else reads.

Oh, and for the record, I contacted the label that printed the City & Colour album about a replacement LP: still have not heard back from them, so that says a lot about MOAM right there.

God bless,

Robert

 

Leave a Reply

