30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 7: Recording Process

Posted: April 20, 2014 in Uncategorized

I’m in Greenville, SC as I type this, a smaller city about an hour and a half south of Charlotte. I’m here because I’m going to be recording my first full-length worship album this week while I’m on Spring Break. I’ve been looking forward to this week for a while now, and I’m excited to see what is going to come out of this session. I’ve got 10 songs that I’m stoked for people to get the chance to hear. I’ve recorded some in the past, but most of it has been work I’ve done on my own, where I had to do all the recording, mixing, mastering and deal with all that stuff, so I’m thrilled to have the talented Ben Kimball to help me out this time. I’ll just play and he can worry about the knobs and such. Very excited about that!

Like I said, this isn’t my first recording rodeo, but this time around it feels different. I think it’s because of the weight of this particular session. These aren’t just songs that I want people to like or connect to; these are songs that I want to allow people to be led into the throne room of God. This is a daunting task, and one which I fear I sometimes take too likely. So I’m making it a priority to really focus while I’m here to make sure to give these songs the reverence they deserve, not because of anything I’ve done, but because of the reason these songs exist. I can’t take it too seriously. I don’t believe that’s even possible.

In any respect, I’ll announce now that the album should be available this summer, more than like early-to-mid June. In the past on other projects that I’ve done, I’ve printed CD’s to sell, but this time around the plan is to go with a digital only release, at least initially. The state of the music industry is such that most people aren’t really buying physical albums anyway, so if I can cut out the costs of printing albums, then that works out better for everyone. So be on the lookout for album this summer, probably mostly through a BandCamp site that I’ll be putting together within the coming weeks. Major digital retailers such as iTunes, AmazonMP3, etc, will come later, but I think that BandCamp should do the job, as it’s available pretty much everywhere I think people might be who would want these songs. Should that prove not to be true, then I’d love to figure out how to get these songs out to people all over the world. Either way, there will be a digital booklet attached to the album that will include photos, art and the lyrics to all the songs. Very exciting things, I hope you’d agree!

Now that we’ve covered those nitty-gritty details, I’d like to close things out by letting you know the title of the album. After much deliberation–mostly with myself–I’ve come to a title that I believe encapsulates the spirit of the album. It comes from the chorus of one of the songs on the album, “Savior God,” one that we’ve been singing at my church for a while now, which really began the process towards recording of this album in the first place. The title will be Never Cease to Praise, and I’m thrilled for you to get to hear it soon. Keep me in your prayers throughout this week, and I’ll be sure to keep you updated as the week goes on.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

