30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 8: Reflection on Today

Posted: April 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

I began recording my new album today. From 9 this morning until a little before 5 this evening, I recorded guitars. I got through all 10 songs on my acoustic, which means we have the skeletons for all of the songs ready to go that we can build on. The days to come will bring drums, electric guitars, bass, keys, pads, etc, and we’ve only got 5 days left. It’s strange to think that so much is going to get done in such a short period of time, but I’m super excited to be here, even if it means a lot of free time in a hotel room on my own.

These are the moments when I realize just how restless I can be. I spread my interests so wide, I tend to be strange about when I want to engage in certain activities. I love to read, for instance, but I really have to put myself in a good place to do so, otherwise my mind wanders and I lose interest quickly. I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a product of my generation, though, too, because I often find that visual stimulation wins over other things, so I won’t say that it’s always just me not being in the “right” place to read or stay quiet.

So that’s where I am tonight. The recording took more out of me than I expected it to, so I was glad to get back here at first, but it didn’t take too long to get over that. Now I want to go out and experience this new place I find myself in, to connect with someone. I’ll admit, it’s a strange mixture of emotions, but that’s not new for me. That’s the whole reason I’m taking on this blog series, after all, mixed feelings.

Tomorrow marks the 3-weeks-til-30 mark. What used to feel so far away is now right on my heels. When I told Ben, my producer on the record, that today he used the old “it’s just a number” response. It’s fine. It’s true, it is. But at the same time, age is indicative of something; it’s not just a number, it’s a passage of time, a reminder of how far you’ve come. Yes, I’ve accomplished a great deal, even if I haven’t accomplished everything I wanted. Maybe there’s time, maybe there’s not, I can’t know. But it also shouldn’t matter. I just need to do the best I can with what I have right now. Maybe that’s the best lesson I can learn as I prepare to leave my 20’s.

Maybe that’s all there is to it.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

