30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 9: Looking Forward

Posted: April 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

I do this whenever I go to a new place: I envision what it might be like to live wherever I am. I do this whenever I’m in Winston-Salem, did it again when I was in Asheville, and now I’m thinking about it here in Greenville, SC. It’s easy on some levels, because as a teacher it’s not too difficult to look into how much money I’d make in a new school system and do a quick internet search to find out the average cost of living wherever I am versus Charlotte.

Generally, it’s just wishful thinking, but at the same time I don’t really have any interest in staying in Charlotte for the rest of my life. For one, the teaching situation in North Carolina is rough, and that’s being nice about it. They currently rank 48 out of 50 in terms of paying their teachers, and all signs point to there not being any improvements in that regard any time soon. Sure, public school teaching across the country is in a bit of a downward spiral, but it doesn’t take a lot of research to realize that I’d at least be getting compensated a little better if I were elsewhere.

In light of this major birthday milestone, I think about moving or staying a great deal. A lot of this relates to not only my career as a teacher, but also to the continued search for that “special someone,” as well as my musical endeavors. All of these things are an essential part of who I am, but they also seem to be a little stagnant where I am. Then again, a lot of things do. I’m not sure if this is because it’s time to move on or if I just need to get over it and make the best of what I’ve got in front of me, but it is a question worth engaging with. One which jumps around in my brain rather often.

And now you know, too.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

