30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 11: Time That Flies

Posted: April 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

I missed the boat again. That’s twice in the first 11 days. Not such a great percentage. Unless I were playing baseball. Then it would be okay. But I’m blogging, so that doesn’t apply. So here we go.

I turned in the final draft for a paper yesterday, meaning that I’m essentially 3 semesters into my MFA program. Why do things seem to be going by much faster as I get older? I always heard people talking about how much time flies as you get older, how it seems like time takes forever when you’re a kid, but I wasn’t really sure if that was just hyperbole. For the record, it wasn’t.

I keep coming back to this, but 30 used to feel so far away, and that was only just a few years ago. Now that it’s coming, I can’t help but reflect on the way that time flies. Regarding my MFA program, I have this summer, next fall, next spring and the following summer and I’m done. That seems unreal. I know that when you break things down like that, nothing really seems like it lasts a very long time. There are ways to make time seem like it’s dragging and other ways to make the same amount of time seem like it’ll be gone in a flash. But I think there’s something to the aging and time flying situation.

I believe it’s mostly a matter of perception. When you’re younger, there are so many things coming at you that are new and different; as we get older, that becomes less the case, which I think is sad. Maybe the way to slow things down is to take away the predictability of our lives. Change things up. Try something new. I don’t know if this is a solution to the problem, nor do I think it’ll immediately make everything better, but I do think it’s worth the effort. And I doubt you can go wrong trying to meet new people, trying new places, hitting the road and just driving until you see somewhere you’ve never seen before.

I know I could do for a change every now and again.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

