30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 12: Critiquing the Arts

Posted: April 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

Earlier today, I sent out the following run of Tweets:

Ever since then, off and on throughout the day, the idea of not “adding to the noise” has been prevalent in my mind. As an artist, I am very concerned with the notion of being as exceptional as I possibly can be. Too often–and this is the case, I think, regardless of what kind of art you’re creating–we let mediocrity become the norm. We accept musicians who aren’t very good at their jobs just because they fit a certain look or mold. The same can be said for actors, writers, etc, and it’s rather absurd. As a teacher, it would be ridiculous to think that I could get away with being bad at my job just because they thought I “looked” like a good teacher, but yet we allow it for our popular arts on an almost constant basis.

Christianity is probably more guilty of this than mainstream arts. Even though we are supposed to strive for excellence, we are actually stuck behind the mainstream in terms of what is going on in the arts, making it appear as if we are running to catch up rather than setting the pace. So rather than getting excellence, we are left with anything from ho-hum copy-cats to just plain awful artists, and the sad thing is that there are people out there who want to do better and, in many cases, are doing so.

So when I said that I didn’t want to add to the noise, I am saying that I am hoping and praying that what I’m doing here this week is actually something that is as exceptional as I can make it. That I am putting something together here that people can think is not only excellent, but also worthy of their time. I truly believe that I am. But I suppose only time will tell if such things are true.

God bless,

Robert

 

P.S. Here’s another Tweet from today. Glad to share this small sample!

Leave a Reply

