30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 15: Rejoice!

Posted: April 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

There’s a song by the band Deas Vail called “Sixteen.” I like this song, even though it’s been a while since I’ve been 16 (or 21, for that matter, which is how the song begins, “Just 21, but it feels like 16”), mostly because of a line that comes in the middle of the bridge section that says: “All this growing up, lately I feel like I’ve had enough.” I feel that. Probably more in the last few years than I would have a decade ago.

The striking thing about that line from is the song is where the songwriter, lead vocalist Wes Blaylock, takes it next. The line that follows goes: “Love is where we turn to get us through. I will always turn and follow you.” I choose to believe that the “you” in question here is God, mostly because I know that the band is a band of Christians who write, often in veiled manners like this, about their faith. I see this, and honestly, it makes me feel awful about complaining about aging and getting older at all.

Like most things in life, it is so easy to settle into the ebbs and flows of life. It’s easy to get down, or at least it is for me. Other people are better at optimism; that’s not really my style, as I tend to waver between realism with a dash of pessimism mixed in. As it is with a lot of things, I’m not sure where this comes from, but it’s something in my life that I work to overcome rather frequently. A song like this reminds me that I don’t have to revel in the pessimism, I don’t have to be so concerned about these small things. And yes, getting older, in the larger scheme of things, is really a small thing.

Then there’s this: “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:4-7). I’ve heard this so many times, but I find myself coming back to it in this moment. It’s true, I know this. I’ve known it for as long as I can recall. But it’s not going to mean much if I can’t allow it to penetrate my heart, something that should be a major priority as I embark upon the beginning of my fourth decade of life.

May that be true for all of us. I think we all could use a little less anxiety and a little more rejoicing.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

