30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 17: Job Status

Posted: April 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

I think that one the one thing about turning 30 that bothers me almost as much as the still being single is the still feeling mostly unsteady professionally. It’s my own fault, really. You see, I started college as a sophomore and then didn’t take advantage of that like I should have. I graduated in three years, so I got that part right, but then, rather than get an early start on graduate school, since I knew that was something I wanted to do, I applied to one place (the MFA program at George Mason, where I graduated from with my BA) and then decided that I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. The truth is, at the time I was just tired of people assuming that my English degree automatically meant I was going to teach. I wasn’t against education. In fact, I was actually excited about the prospects of that being one of the career choices I had, I just didn’t want people to assume that a certain degree meant a certain job.

So rather than do what I should have done, which was go and make sure I had my teaching license situation taken care of just in case I decided to go that direction, I went out and got jobs in other fields, including working in customer service for an Internet VoIP telephone system company, a job I loathed entirely. In reality, those choices I made almost a decade ago have impacted where I am today. Instead of being done with graduate school, I’m still chugging along. Instead of being 5 or so years into education, I’m only in my third year. Yes, there are a lot of “instead of’s” here, but the fact of the matter is that this is where I am, and looking back won’t change anything.

I’ve found that concerning myself with the past doesn’t really do me a whole lot of good. I’m glad to say that I believe I’ve gotten better at focusing on what’s ahead as I’ve gotten older. Still not perfect–nor do I ever believe I’ll get there–but I’m more aware of my tendencies in that regard, and I think I’m making strides to do better in those cases. There are more lessons to be learned, that much is for sure, but I’m smart enough to know that this will always be the case.

I can rest in the fact that I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be and that I’ve never walked alone along the path that I’ve walked. There’s no doubt in my mind that good things are still on the way, that God will walk me along and never let me go.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

