30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 21: Theatre Thoughts

Posted: May 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

I went to see a play last night. It was a little unorthodox in its set-up, as the play was staged in the back patio of a bar in the Plaza-Midwood area of Charlotte. The play was actually a Pulitzer Prize winning playing called The Aliens written by Annie Baker, and it centered on two older guys with not a lot going on who befriend a high school kid who isn’t quite sure who he is. There’s a great twist at the beginning of the second act that really changes the tone of the play and makes what initially seemed like a lighthearted play into something deeper and more interesting. It is a play with something to say, and I was really impressed with the production as well. It was put on by Paper House Theatre, a local company here in Charlotte.

All this to say, I used to be a bit of a theatre kid when I was younger. I took some acting classes as a young kid and did some acting when I was in middle school, so it’s something I’ve always enjoyed doing and felt like I had a pretty good flare for. So in seeing that play last night, I felt inside me a desire to get into acting again. I don’t know what that looks like in terms of fitting it into what I’ve already got going on, but I would really like to give it a go in some regard.

If nothing else, I think I need to try to write a play. I think that’s a good opportunity to take on and I’ve got a couple of ideas that I might try to see if I can’t make them work. Yes, I continue to take on a great deal of things, but I have always wanted to try to do as much as I can to express myself, and I believe this is just another opportunity to do that. So be on the lookout. Maybe you’ll see me up in lights someday.

 

God bless,

Robert

Leave a Reply

