30 (blogs) for (turning) 30: Day 30: It’s Here

Posted: May 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

I survived. I woke up like I normally do. I showered, got dressed, etc, and went to work. My students, having no idea it was my birthday, were their normal selves. It was, for all intents and purposes, a normal day in Robert Land.

And honestly, that was okay.

I’m not sad about 30. In fact, I’m rather glad that I didn’t overreact or go crazy about it. I think the fact that I’m so okay means that somewhere in the last few years or months or weeks, I came to grips with the inevitability of aging and getting older. I’m good with it. Actually, I think I might be looking forward to seeing what being 30 is like. I still don’t feel like I’ve been alive that long. It still feels like it’s so far away, even though it’s here and nearly a day into itself. Everyone kept telling me that it would be okay. I think maybe they were right.

Many thanks to all the people who wished me a happy birthday today. Thanks for being there for me all year round. It’s good to know that I have such a solid support base around me. You keep me sane in those times where I feel like I’m going to get worked up. And even if I don’t, you’re still there. I love you all.

 

God bless,

Robert

Comments
  1. erin says:

    Happy birthday, friend. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

